Undergroundnetwork


Obamania: Sickness or cure? by underground

I was bored today. That is the only way I can explain me watching Entertainment Tonight’s inauguration special. I now know what Barack, Michelle and the girls were wearing, who performed live, who thought what, when, why and how. Thousands of people were in the streets, celebrating as though World War Two had just been declared over. Everyone was so excited, every superlative exhausted, every glowing face crying tears of liquid patriotism. It was beautiful. It was history. It was mindnumbing crap.

On a level with perhaps only JFK, Obama is as much a politician as he is a celebrity. What he wears and who he is seen with is as important as what he says and what he does. For all some people seem to care, he could be a chart topping rapper. His number one single is “Yes we can” and his Gold selling album is “Change we can believe in”. People are going crazy over a politician. A politician!  Is this a good thing?

Is this a case of style over substance? Surely it is great people are inspired and interested in politics and ideals, but is Obama much more than slogans and great oratary skills? During the campaign he initially impressed me, particular during the Democratic Primaries, but gradually he has appeared to me as less of a deviation from the status quo as his slogans declare him to be. I was excited as anyone when he won the election, as excited as a non-American could (should) be, but I believe the hype is going over board. Is this man really the messiah? I’m not writing him off, I know he will be an improvement on his predecessor, but considering the mammoth tasks ahead of him I’m keeping my expectations low!

The question I am pondering, is will Obama get people who previously didn’t care about politics, society or the world to follow important issues with interest and participate actively in democracy, or is he simply a cult of personality, divorced from any substance, popular for who he isn’t, worshipped like a teen heart-throb?

I suppose I’ll know in four years time.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

