Undergroundnetwork


Review: Elemeno P & Supergroove at the Coroglen 03/01/09 by underground
January 4, 2009, 9:57 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Initially I thought $55 to see two Kiwi bands at the Coroglen Tavern was really steep. Following Elemeno P’s set I was still feeling a little ripped off. An hour later I knew I had got my money’s worth.

When I was 10 I listened to whatever my dad listened to. Whilst I was listening to Cat Stevens and Meatloaf, the rest of the kids in my standard 4 class were listening to Supergroove. Eventually I caught up, hearing their hit songs on the radio, but by then they had broken up.

Recently reformed, Supergroove play their famous songs like it was the early nineties. Che Fu has an incredible voice which is accompanied well live by the large enthusiastic and talented band. The energy which flowed throughout their diverse set was topped of by a band member climbing onto the rafters during scorpio girl. It was bedlam.

Elemeno P were good, but I found them lacking. Sometimes I think this band doesn’t really know what genre they should be playing and they do none well. Apart from the well known radio songs, and including some of them, I found them a bit boring, until they lifted the tempo. Many of their slower songs do not come across well live and they didn’t have the energy I expected. When followed up by Supergroove this was really exposed.

With a mix of old and new, hits and solo Che Fu, the crowd were treated to everything Supergroove had to offer. The crowd was as diverse as the songs played, from those who had probably seen them the first time round to those who had only discovered them this millenium.

It might be Crowded House or the Exponents who you hear at the cricket or every waterfront bar in the country, but Supergroove is the quintessential Kiwi band. Missing them is a greater cost than any ticket price.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

Comment by sandra742




Leave a Reply

