Undergroundnetwork


What I want from 2009 by underground
January 2, 2009, 12:01 pm
Filed under: Life, Philosophy | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year! Another year has been completed and a fresh year is upon us. 2008 was a bad year for most people, particularly with the economic recession. I had a good one, obtaining a graduate diploma in journalism, making great new friends and moving to a small New Zealand town with my incredible girlfriend to work at a community paper. Life couldn’t be better. So what would make 2009 perfect?

I’m not a fan of New Year resolutions. You tend to forget about them by February 1. And I don’t think I need to change anything major. I might want to eat healthier or do more exercise, but I can take it or leave it. Maybe I could swear less. I think I expect from others than myself this year.

I want to see more people smile in the street. I want more people to say hi to strangers. I want to hear less racist insults. I want all religions to either cease to hate, or cease to exist. I want sweat shops to close. I want rainforest logging to stop. I want cluster bombs banned. I want secret detention prisons closed. I want the death penalty banned. I want children to stop being sexualised or turned on to violence. I want intelligence valued more than ignorance. I want battery chickens banned. I want SUVs off the road. I want whaling stopped. I want people to stop abusing children. I want people to stop treating other people like shit. I want people to stop treating themselves like shit.

I want Barack Obama to prove me wrong. I want him to come down hard on Israel, to stop arming the illegitimate state to the hilt and blocking every international attempt to stop them bombing and massacring Palestinians imprisoned in an impoverished land like shooting fish in a barrel.

I want John Key and the National Party to prove me wrong, to take global warming, workers rights, minority rights seriously and put the well-being of all New Zealanders above the wealth accumulation of a fortunate few. National’s pre-Christmas undemocratic rush indicate where there intentions lie.

I’m sure I’ve left a few things out.

I think 2009 may be disappointing…

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Absolutely! From your perspective, 2009 will be a total bust. Of course you can always look forward to 2010, no that will be a bust also. Oh well. There is good in the world if you look in the right places.

Comment by Archie




Leave a Reply

