Undergroundnetwork


Found: The greatest song ever written! by underground
October 19, 2008, 2:39 pm
Filed under: Music, Philosophy | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I believe music is a means of communication. A song should have a message, it should tell a story. The listener should feel something; anger, happiness, sorrow, humour, anything. A great song should make you think, either about the artist who wrote it, or what they were rtying to convey. The best songs should really get to you emotionally and/or intellectually, it should change your opinions, challenge your beliefs, or bring a tear to your eye.

Earlier this week I purchased the new album from Rise Against Appeal to Reason. I reviewed it for this blog and TWN. Track 10 is the greatest song ever written. Not only is ‘Hero of War’ beautifully sung and performed, it has the most powerful lyrics ever. Tim McIlrath’s voice is so genuine, you really believe he is the soldier in the song. If Rise Against wanted to top the charts, this track should be the next single released on this already successful album (open #3 on billboard 200) so the whole world can hear it. It really is that good in my mind. This is what music is really about, not faux-lesbians, gansta-rivalries or obnoxious mindless bass thumps. Amberleigh Jack, this is the song I will play my children.

Oh, and buy the album, it’s awesome!

Rise Against: ‘Hero of War’

He said, “Son,
Have you seen the world?
Well, what would you say
If I said that you could?
Just carry this gun, you’ll even get paid.”
I said, “That sounds very good.”

Black leather boots
Spit-shined so bright
They cut off my hair but it looked alright
We marched and we sang
We all became friends
As we learned how to fight

A hero of war
Yeah, that’s what I’ll be
And when I come home
They’ll be damn proud of me
I’ll carry this flag
To the grave if I must
Because it’s flag that I love
And a flag that I trust

I kicked in the door
I yelled my commands
The children, they cried
But I got my man
We took him away
A bag over his face
From his family and his friends

They took off his clothes
They pissed in his hands
I told them to stop
But then I joined in
We beat him with guns
And batons not just once
But again and again

A hero of war
Yeah that’s what I’ll be
And when I come home
They’ll be damn proud of me
I’ll carry this flag
To the grave if I must
Because it’s flag that I love
And a flag that I trust

She walked through bullets and haze
I asked her to stop
I begged her to stay
But she pressed on
So I lifted my gun
And I fired away

And the shells jumped through the smoke
And into the sand
That the blood now had soaked
She collapsed with a flag in her hand
A flag white as snow

A hero of war
Is that what they see
Just medals and scars
So damn proud of me
And I brought home that flag
Now it gathers dust
But it’s a flag that I love
It’s the only flag I trust

He said, “Son, have you seen the world?
Well what would you say
If I said that you could?”

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey
Just doing some more TWN online and came across your blog. Very powerful song – just voice and guitar makes it all the better!

Lou

Comment by Louise

I have mixed feelings on this song, seeing that I am a soldier and infantryman nonetheless. The song is beautifully composed and does make the audience feel as if the speaker was indeed a soldier, but it seems to bring a negative light on young soldiers like myself. I understand that the song is intended to show how terrible war is, and that many atrocities occur in times of conflict, but it unintentionally paints a picture in the minds of young people who have only seen war as CNN has portrayed it, and have not seen it first hand, like I and many others have. This being said, songs like “Hero of War” focus on the negative and rare incidents of misdeeds performed by US forces, such as Abu Ghraib. It is unfortunate that most Americans focus on these things and not the vast amount of good we do for nations like Iraq and Afghanistan, such as creating public schools, hospitals, security for afghani and iraqi citizens. Im not saying this war is right or wrong, I’m just saying that as a whole, the general population complain about the war, yet people like me and my friends are the only ones being affected by it in a very literal way. We are very fortunate, as a nation, that we are able to wage two wars simultaneously and not see drastic lifestyle changes on the home front, like World War II and every other major war.

Comment by Andrew




Leave a Reply

