Undergroundnetwork


Five days away from Auckland… by underground

As part of my Graduate Diploma in Journalism, I will be spending the next five days in Thames writing for the Hauraki Herald. The Hauraki Herald is a Fairfax regional paper that covers the Thames/Hauraki/Coromandel/Waihi etc area. It should be interesting to see what kind of stories are written for these communities compared to those written for the New Zealand Herald, where I did a two-week internship a few weeks back. Reading through past papers I find my ignorance of rural/small community life exposed, as I really am only used to the North Shore, Auckland suburban life. I look forward to the challenge of writing stories for these communities, which will be something very different. Should be an exciting and  valuable experience. I love the atmosphere of the newsroom and a well earned beer at the end of the day!

To any Hauraki Herald readers who may be reading this, I would love to hear of any good story ideas. Leave a comment and I can email you. I don’t think I’ll be writing any new posts for a few days, but hopefully I’ll still be able to approve any new comments. I’m keen to see any reader responses to this post (from Coromandel region locals) and my previous post “open letter to National voters”. Cheers.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

